The Beginnings History Staff Services
The Beginnings
 If you have any feedback on how we can make our new website better please do contact us. We would like to hear from you.

Ballyhaunis office:


Galway office:

Thomas Dillon-Leetch was the founder of the firm having qualified from Trinity College, Dublin and he set up the practice in 1889.  The firm has passed from one generation to another and maintains its centre of practice at Ballyhaunis, Co Mayo.

Traditionally we stand for the principles of confidentiality, impartiality, good service and independent expertise in the complexities of law.

The Practice is now under the Principal John Dillon-Leetch, Thomas's grandson. Robert Potter-Cogan who joined the practice in 1986 is now a Consultant to both offices.  We now employ 16 staff members including 4 solicitors covering all aspects of law.  Throughout the legal staff there is in excess of 270 years experience within the practice. 

Our longest serving staff member has 48 years service with us.  We take pride in our experience and expertise. Our 118 years of legal expertise is the foundation stone of our reputation.

William James Valentine Comerford qualified as a Solicitor in February 1924.  He started practice in Tuam, Co Galway as Henry Concanon & Co and in 1954 moved the practice to 9 William Street, Galway at which stage he was in partnership with Frank Meagher.  In 1963 Williamís son, Henry, qualified and joined the practice in Galway; Henry continued in partnership following Williamís retirement in the early 70ís when Henry continued practice in Galway. Henry amalgamated the then firm of Henry Concanon & Co with Sean Ford orse Sean MacGiollarnath and Albert L OíDea under the practice name of Concanon & Co as the new firmís name, it being the oldest established practice.  The partnership Concanon & Co was dissolved amicably in 1982.  Henry began a new practice as a sole practitioner under the style or title of Henry Comerford & Co at Sea Road, Galway in the same year.  John Dillon-Leetch and Robert Potter-Cogan acquired the practice in 1995 and since December 2011, John Dillon-Leetch is Principal to both offices under the Business name of Dillon Leetch & Comerford. 

Traditionally we stand for unyielding adherence to the principles of trust, fair play and independence in pursuit of justice. Our clients are individuals who seek professional and independent legal expertise.  Truth and experience constitute our foundations.  Henry retired gracefully.

Site Map